News 18 February 2020

Stormzy, Dave & Mabel Win Big At The 2020 BRIT Awards

18 February 2020

Tonight (February 18), the ceremony for the 2020 BRIT Awards took place at the O2 Arena and a number of big names scooped up awards at the huge event.

The ceremony, which was hosted by Jack Whitehall, is a celebration of the biggest successes in the UK music industry over the past year and it’s been a massive twelve months for several artists.

From releasing his second album Heavy Is The Head to scoring the Official Charts double with a number one single and album, Stormzy has continued to up the levels and he was awarded for his efforts by winning Best Male Solo Artist.

Fellow south Londoner Dave also received a mega award, securing Mastercard’s Album of the Year for his efforts on his debut LP, Pshycodrama.

Representing for the ladies was Mabel who beat Mahalia, Charlie XCX, FKA Twigs and Freya Ridings to win the award for Best Female Solo Artist.

The BRITs also acknowledge talent from all corners of the world and scooping up the Best Male International Act award this year was Tyler, The Creator who delivered a playfully sarcastic speech aimed at former prime minister, Theresa May.

As well as being a big night for those winning awards, the ceremony also saw big performances from Dave, who delivered a powerful rendition of his track “Black, and Stormzy who performed a medley of his singles including “Do Better” and “Own It” with Burna Boy.

Check out the full list of 2020 BRIT Award winners below:

Mastercard British Album of the Year

  • Dave – Psychodrama – Winner
  • Stormzy – Heavy Is The Head
  • Michael Kiwanuka – Kiwanuka
  • Lewis Capaldi – Divinely Uninspired To A Hellish Extent
  • Harry Styles – Fine Line

Best British female

  • Mabel – Winner
  • Freya Ridings
  • FKA Twigs
  • Charli XCX
  • Mahalia

Best British male

  • Stormzy – Winner 
  • Harry Styles
  • Lewis Capaldi
  • Dave
  • Michael Kiwanuka

Best British group

  • Foals – Winners
  • Bring Me The Horizon
  • D-Block Europe
  • Bastille
  • Coldplay

Best new artist

  • Lewis Capaldi – Winner
  • Dave
  • Mabel
  • Sam Fender
  • Aitch


  • Lewis Capaldi – Someone You Loved – Winner
  • Ed Sheeran & Justin Bieber – I Don’t Care
  • Mabel – Don’t Call Me Up
  • Calvin Harris ft Rag ‘N’ Bone Man – Giant
  • Dave ft Burna Boy – Location
  • Mark Ronson ft Miley Cyrus – Nothing Breaks Like A Heart
  • AJ Tracey – Ladbroke Grove
  • Tom Walker – Just You And I
  • Sam Smith ft Normani – Dancing With A Stranger
  • Stormzy – Vossi Bop


  • Billie Eilish – Winner
  • Ariana Grande
  • Camila Cabello
  • Lana Del Rey
  • Lizzo

International male

  • Tyler, The Creator – Winner
  • Bruce Springsteen
  • Burna Boy
  • Dermot Kennedy
  • Post Malone

Rising star award

  • Celeste – Winner
  • Joy Crookes
  • Beabadoobee