News 11 January 2020

Dave, Stormzy, D-Block Europe, Aitch & more among nominees for the 2020 Brit Awards

11 January 2020

The nominations for the BRIT Awards are here and alongside pop names like Coldplay, Charli XCX and Harry Styles, the biggest artists in grime, trap and more are in the running for gongs too.

South London hailing heavyweights Dave and Stormzy lead nominations this year with nominations in all of the top categories.

After releasing several projects and singles last year including the massive tracks “Home Pussy” and “Kitchen Kings”, D-Block Europe have earned themselves a nomination for Best British Group and will battle it out against Coldplay, Bastile and more.

The Best Female prize sees Mabel and Mahalia receive nominations and the Best Male award could go home with Dave or Stormzy this year.

The Best New Artist nominees include, Aitch, Dave and Mabel who will take on pop artist Lewis Capaldi and Sam Fender.

The Song of the Year award is an intense competition this year; Dave’s “Location”, AJ Tracey’s “Ladbroke Grove” and Stormzy’s “Vossi Bop” are all up for the prize.

The Album of the Year prize is close too with Dave’s Psychodrama and Stormzy’s Heavy is the Head both on the list for consideration.

The BRIT Awards will take place on the 18th of February at the 02 Arena and Manchester hailing artist Aitch is just one of many artists set to take to the stage. 

See the full list of nominations below:

Best Group
Bring me the horizon
D-Block Europe

Best Female Solo Artist
Freya Ridings
Fka twigs
Charlie XCX

Best Male Solo Artist
Harry Styles
Lewis Capaldi
Michael Kiwanuka

Best New Artist
Lewis Capaldi
Sam Fender

Song of the Year
“I Don’t Care” – Ed Sheeran
“Don’t Call Me Up” – Mabel 
“Giant” – Calvin Harris
“Location” – Dave
“Nothing Breaks Like a Heart” – Mark Ronson featuring Miley Cyrus
“Ladbroke Grove” – AJ Tracey
“Someone You Loved” – Lewis Capaldi
“Just You and I” – Tom Walker
“Dancing with a Stranger” – Sam Smith featuring Normani
“Vossi Bop” – Stormzy

International Female
Ariana Grande
Billie Elish
Camila Cabello
Lana del ray

International Male
Bruce Springsteen
Burna Boy
Tyler, the Creator
Dermot Kennedy
Post Malone

Album of the Year
Psychodrama – Dave
Heavy is the head – Stormzy
Kiwanuka – Michael Kiwanuka
Divinely Uninspired to a Hellish Extent – Lewis Capaldi
Fine Line – Harry styles