News 25 October 2016
Author: Alex Griffin

Messi Who? Jamie Vardy nominated for Ballon d’Or

25 October 2016

Jamie Vardy is having another party.

The shortlist for the prestigious Ballon d’Or award has been announced and the Leicester City striker has been named on it.

He’s the only Englishman on there too, joining the likes of Leo Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Gareth Bale and Zlatan Ibrahimovic.

While we highly expect Messi or Ronny are gonna take the award home – the last person to win it who wasn’t them was Kaka in 2007 – it’s great to see an English player make the list.

The last person to do so was Michael Owen way back in 2001 and before him, Kevin Keegan in 1979.

The full list consists of:

  • Sergio Aguero (Manchester City)
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Gareth Bale (Real Madrid)
  • Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
  • Paulo Dybala (Juventus)
  • Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid)
  • Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
  • Gonzalo Higuain (Juventus)
  • Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Manchester United)
  • Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
  • Koke (Atletico Madrid)
  • Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
  • Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich)
  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
  • Riyad Mahrez (Leicester)
  • Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
  • Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)
  • Dimitri Payet (West Ham)
  • Paul Pogba (Manchester United)
  • Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)
  • Pepe (Real Madrid)
  • Neymar (Barcelona)
  • Rui Patricio (Sporting Lisbon)
  • Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
  • Luis Suarez (Barcelona)
  • Jamie Vardy (Leicester)
  • Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich)