News 26 November 2020
Author: Courtney W

England’s Post-Lockdown Regional Tiers Announced

26 November 2020

Just days after Prime Minister Boris Johnson confirmed the UK will return to a tiered system of restrictions next week, the government have now revealed which tiers each region will move into after lockdown.

The full list of areas and their tiers were published this morning (November 26) by the government.

From December 2, London and Liverpool will go into Tier 2, while Birmingham and Manchester will be placed in Tier 3.

In tier 1, people will be urged to work from home where possible. In tier 2, bars and restaurants will only be able to sell alcohol if served with a meal. Also in tiers 1 and 2, bars and restaurants will be able to open until 11pm, with last call for orders being at 10pm.

In tier 3, indoor entertainment, hotels and all forms of hospitality will close except for takeaways. Mr Johnson also said we will see a “six-week surge of testing” in tier 3 areas.

In addition to allowing the opening of non-essential shops, gyms, leisure facilities and hairdressers next Wednesday (December 2), the PM also said a limited number of fans will be able to return to sports stadium in tiers 1 and 2.

The list of regions and their post-lockdown tiers can be viewed below.

Tier 1: Medium alert

South East

  • Isle of Wight

South West

  • Cornwall
  • Isles of Scilly

Tier 2: High alert

North West

  • Cumbria
  • Liverpool City Region
  • Warrington and Cheshire


  • York
  • North Yorkshire

West Midlands

  • Worcestershire
  • Herefordshire
  • Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin

East Midlands

  • Rutland
  • Northamptonshire

East of England

  • Suffolk
  • Hertfordshire
  • Cambridgeshire, including Peterborough
  • Norfolk
  • Essex, Thurrock and Southend on Sea
  • Bedfordshire and Milton Keynes


  • all 32 boroughs plus the City of London

South East

  • East Sussex
  • West Sussex
  • Brighton and Hove
  • Surrey
  • Reading
  • Wokingham
  • Bracknell Forest
  • Windsor and Maidenhead
  • West Berkshire
  • Hampshire (except the Isle of Wight), Portsmouth and Southampton
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire

South West

  • South Somerset, Somerset West and Taunton, Mendip and Sedgemoor
  • Bath and North East Somerset
  • Dorset
  • Bournemouth
  • Christchurch
  • Poole
  • Gloucestershire
  • Wiltshire and Swindon
  • Devon

Tier 3: Very High alert

North East

  • Tees Valley Combined Authority:
    • Hartlepool
    • Middlesbrough
    • Stockton-on-Tees
    • Redcar and Cleveland
    • Darlington
  • North East Combined Authority:
    • Sunderland
    • South Tyneside
    • Gateshead
    • Newcastle upon Tyne
    • North Tyneside
    • County Durham
    • Northumberland

North West

  • Greater Manchester
  • Lancashire
  • Blackpool
  • Blackburn with Darwen

Yorkshire and The Humber

  • The Humber
  • West Yorkshire
  • South Yorkshire

West Midlands

  • Birmingham and Black Country
  • Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent
  • Warwickshire, Coventry and Solihull

East Midlands

  • Derby and Derbyshire
  • Nottingham and Nottinghamshire
  • Leicester and Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire

South East

  • Slough (remainder of Berkshire is tier 2: High alert)
  • Kent and Medway

South West

  • Bristol
  • South Gloucestershire
  • North Somerset