News 27 April 2019
Author: Aaron M

Virgil van Dijk wins ‘Player of the Year’

27 April 2019

Dutch centre back Virgil van Dijk has been crowned BBC Sport’s player of the year after receiving 56% of votes, more than double compared to his closest rival Raheem Sterling (26%).

The 27-year-old defender has been key in Liverpool’s title race this season, living up to his world record transfer fee of £75 million.

Votes also went to Heung-min Son (6%) Eden Hazard (4%),  Andrew Robertson (2%), Sadio Mane (2%), Sergio Aguero (1%) and Silva (1%). The ‘other’ option received 2% of the votes.

Hundreds of thousands of votes were cast by BBC Sport website readers. Pundits themselves also awarded an accolade to van Dijk earlier this week, naming him “outstanding performer” ahead of Manchester City’s Sterling and Aguero. 

The BBC Sport POTY vote could be a forecast of the results to be seen in the PFA Player of the Year award which will be given out tomorrow (Sunday the 28th April) during a ceremony in London. 

For more football news, click here to see the football moment dubbed “The cheekiest penalty” ever.